Brand Experience and UX create digital brands.

Brands are becoming more and more digital. Without a website, platform or eCommerce, it’s hard to imagine a brand truly establishing itself in the world of its consumers or clients. Online presence (including online marketing) is no longer a convenience, but the necessary proof of one’s existence. Last but not least, the digital brand has become a lifeline: in times of pandemics, digital brand presence, brand experience and user experience become a survival factor.

As a brand, the main thing is to be online?

Spontaneously: yes. Reflectively: no. The mindset of “done is better than perfect” is harmful in this context. Too many brands rely on quick generic solutions with templates and website builders, for example, simply because they don’t have the resources or the right technology and workflows to scale in a design-friendly way. What works for small business and B2C can be deadly for B2B brands. The problem that arises: the user experience negatively impacts the brand experience.

Last week, we stumbled across a marketing post from the McLaren Mercedes brand. The new “Artura” supercar costs a whopping 220,000 euros in basic equipment, making it the brand’s shining flagship star, so to speak. McLaren has been hit hard financially by Covid and has seen sales drop by more than 60% compared to the previous year 2020. In front of shareholders and buyers, it would make sense to nurture the brand and the brand image in order to master such crises with aplomb and come out of the crisis with a new car and new momentum.

The opposite was true.

The McLaren Retailer’s LinkedIn post is a sponsored post to generate leads from prospective buyers. Instead of a car for 220,000 euros, we wouldn’t even order a pizza for 10 euros for lunch via such forms online:

Brand Experience Anzeige von Lead Generierung McLaren

Even if the input mask would be successful based on numbers – the brand carries massive damage with the viewer. User Experience is Brand Experience and because the atmosphere of the Experience definitely does not live up to the luxury of a 220,000 Euro car, the Brand Experience will individually damage the brand image.

When it comes to User Experience, we often only think in a very limited way about the user experience on a website. Unfortunately, the entire context is left out: that the brand is always placed within this User Experience.

 

Every user experience has an impact on the brand

User Experience is Brand Experience and a good brand image alone does not guarantee that the brand will survive a bad UX unaffected. Because user experience is everywhere and brand is always involved, it makes sense to examine the touchpoints with the customer:

  • What experience do you want a customer to have in those contacts?
  • What value proposition does the brand want to exude?
  • How can every UX become a brand experience?

Such questions can only be answered easily if the basis of brand communication has been answered conclusively in corporate identity and is implemented consistently in branding and brand design. Every user experience has an impact on the brand. Brands without a good corporate identity usually have a poor brand experience because the basis of …

Values > Purpose > Mission > Vision

 

cannot be translated into branding and marketing in the first place. Without vision, there is no mission, and a mission comes from values and the purpose it implements. Applied to the case of McLaren, this ladder could graphically look like this (wording taken from the corporate report for investors August 2020)

 

Vision: Creating the ultimate ownership experience

Mission: Creating iconic supercars

Purpose: Roots and pride in racing & innovation

Values: high-performance, luxury, ultimate experience

 

If we check McLaren’s lead generation form with this hierarchy of values to vision we find: the brand experience doesn’t exactly exude ultimate experiences and luxury. And that’s what’s wrong with the ad and damaging to the brand.

 

Brand design is the only trust factor online.

We could argue that this touchpoint is “merely” one input screen of many. As a design agency, we would argue that every brand experience is EVERYTHING. When online touchpoints become the selective only touchpoint with brands, that one touchpoint counts 100% in perception, even if it only accounts for 1% of marketing. The wholeness of these touchpoints is what creates a brand in us. If 2 out of 4 possible touchpoints leave such a negative image of a brand, negative 50% brand perception is created.

 

User Experience is no longer “Ugly sells”.

Brains seek consistency in patterns. Our preference, therefore, tends toward brands that consistently try to achieve the positive 100%. In UX, there used to be talk of “ugly sells” – a state in which small flaws in a digital user experience were considered human/approachable and therefore authentic, leading to more conversions.

This wisdom has long since ceased to apply.

Design builds trust. Every digital (therefore mostly anonymous) touchpoint needs this trust. 75% of credibility in e-commerce, for example, is based on design. At the same time, we can create the best e-commerce experience in the world and achieve nothing if the resources in branding and marketing don’t get the same care in the brand experience.

 

Brand design in UX is the visible brand experience.

Brand Design is the carefully crafted identity and voice of your brand across every digital touchpoint. From a consumer’s perspective, we easily notice where poor design impacts our experience of an entire brand in a negative way. Anyone who has ever clicked on a beautiful ad and been led to a terrible-looking e-commerce site knows the internal shift in perception. A terrible ad can lead to the best user experience, which we never get to see through the terrible (and unclicked) ad. User Experience is Brand Experience is every touchpoint is important to your brand – even if you don’t sell supercars.

Benchmark Design – Designagentur München

Sind Sie auf der Suche nach einem kreativen Partner, der mit Branding und Corporate Design Ihre Marke für die Zukunft optimiert und für die Digitalisierung bereit macht? Benchmark Design ist eine Designagentur in München. Wir sind spezialisiert auf kreative und lösungsorientierte Brandings und Corporate Designs, mit denen unsere Kunden von Startup bis Konzern ihre Marke definieren und zu neuer Relevanz finden.

Benchmark Design

+49 (0) 89 458 132 21
info@benchmark-design.de

Oskar-von-Miller-Ring 20
80333 München

©2021 Benchmark Design

Brand Experience und UX schaffen digitale Marken

Marken werden immer digitaler. Ohne Website, Plattform oder eCommerce ist es kaum vorstellbar, dass sich eine Marke wirklich in der Welt ihrer Konsumenten oder Klienten etablieren kann. Der Online Auftritt (auch Online Marketing) ist keine Annehmlichkeit mehr, sondern der notwendige Nachweis für die eigene Existenz. Nicht zuletzt wurde die digitale Marke zur Lebensader: in Zeiten von Pandemien wird die digitale Brand Experience und User Experience zum Überlebensfaktor.

Als Marke Hauptsache online sein?

Spontan: ja. Reflektiert: nein. Die Denkweise von „Fertig ist besser als perfekt“ ist in diesem Zusammenhang schädlich. Zu viele Marken setzen auf schnelle generische Lösungen mit beispielsweise Templates und Website Baukasten, nur weil sie nicht über die Ressourcen oder die richtige Technologie und Arbeitsabläufe verfügen, um designfreundlich zu skalieren. Was für Kleinunternehmer und B2C funktioniert, kann für B2B Marken tödlich sein. Das Problem, das dabei entsteht: die User Experience wirkt sich negativ auf die Brand Experience aus.

Vergangene Woche sind wir über einen Marketing-Post der Marke McLaren Mercedes gestolpert. Der neue Supersportwagen „Artura“ kostet schlappe 220.000 Euro in der Grundausstattung und ist damit sozusagen der leuchtende Vorzeige-Star der Marke. McLaren wurde finanziell von Covid schwer getroffen und hat im Vergleich zum Vorjahr 2020 mehr als 60% Umsatzeinbußen verzeichnet. Vor Aktionären und Käufern würde es Sinn machen, die Marke und das Markenimage zu pflegen, um auch solche Krisen souverän zu meistern und mit neuem Auto und neuem Schwung aus der Krise zu kommen.

Das Gegenteil war der Fall.

Der LinkedIn Post des McLaren Retailers ist ein gesponserter Post zum Generieren von Leads aus Kaufinteressenten. Statt ein Auto für 220.000 Euro würden wir über solche Formulare Online nicht ein mal eine Pizza für 10 Euro zum Mittagessen bestellen:

Brand Experience Anzeige von Lead Generierung McLaren

Selbst wenn die Eingabemaske zahlen basiert erfolgreich wäre – die Marke trägt beim Betrachter massiven Schaden davon. User Experience ist Brand Experience und weil die Atmosphäre der Experience definitiv nicht dem Luxus von 220.000 Euro Auto gerecht wird, wird die Brand Experience das Markenimage individuell beschädigt.

Bei User Experience denken wir oft nur sehr limitiert an das Nutzererlebnis auf einer Website. Der gesamte Kontext bleibt dabei leider außen vor: dass immer die Marke innerhalb dieser User Experience platziert ist.

 

Jede User Experience wirkt sich auf die Marke aus

User Experience ist Brand Experience und ein gutes Brand Image alleine garantiert nicht, dass die Marke eine schlechte UX unbeeinflusst übersteht. Weil User Experience überall ist und Marke immer eingebunden ist, macht es Sinn, die Touchpoints mit dem Kunden zu untersuchen:

  • Welches Erlebnis soll ein Kunde in den Kontakten haben?
  • Welches Werte-Versprechen will die Marke ausstrahlen?
  • Wie kann jede UX eine Brand Experience werden?

Solche Fragen sind nur dann einfach zu beantworten, wenn die Basis der Markenkommunikation in Corporate Identity schlüssig beantwortet wurde und in Branding und Brand Design konsequent umgesetzt wird. Jede User Experience wirk sich auf die Marke aus. Marken ohne gute Corporate Identity haben üblicherweise eine schlechte Brand Experience, weil die Grundlage von …

 

Werte > Zweck > Mission > Vision

 

Erst gar nicht in Branding und Marketing übersetzt werden können. Ohne Vision gibt es keine Mission, und eine Mission entsteht durch Werte und den Zweck, den sie umsetzt. Auf den Fall von McLaren angewandt, könnte diese Leiter grafisch so aussehen (Wortwahl dem Unternehmensbericht für Investoren August 2020 / entnommen )

 

Vision: Creating the ultimate ownership Experience

Mission: Creating iconic supercars

Zweck: Roots and pride in racing & innovation

Werte: high-performance, luxury, ultimate experience

 

Überprüfen wir das Lead Generation Formular von McLaren mit dieser Hierarchie aus Werten bis Vision stellen wir fest: die Brand Experience strahlt nicht gerade ultimative Erlebnisse und Luxus aus. Und das ist es, was falsch an der Anzeige und schädlich für die Marke ist.

 

Brand Design ist Online der einzige Vertrauensfaktor

Wir könnten argumentieren, dass dieser Touchpoint „lediglich“ eine Eingabemaske von vielen ist. Als Designagentur würden wir argumentieren, dass jede Brand Experience ALLES ist. Wenn Online Touchpoints zur punktuell einzigen Tuchfühlung mit Marken werden, zählt dieser eine Touchpoint in der Wahrnehmung 100%, auch wenn er nur 1% des Marketings ausmacht. Die Ganzheit dieser Touchpoints ist das, was eine Marke in uns kreiert. Wenn 2 von 4 möglichen Touchpoints ein solches negatives Bild einer Marke zurücklassen, entstehen negative 50% Markenwahrnehmung.

 

User Experience heißt nicht mehr „Ugly sells“

Gehirne suchen Konsistenz in Mustern. Unsere Präferenz tendiert deshalb zu Marken, die konsistent versuchen, die positiven 100% zu erreichen. Früher war im UX die Rede von „ugly sells“ – einem Zustand, in dem kleine Fehler einer digitalen User Experience als menschlich/nahbar und deshalb als authentisch eingestuft wurden und zu mehr Conversions geführt haben.

Diese Weisheit gilt längst nicht mehr.

Design schafft Vertrauen. Jeder digitale (deshalb meist anonyme) Touchpoint braucht dieses Vertrauen. 75% der Glaubwürdigkeit im E-Commerce beispielsweise beruhen auf Design. Gleichzeitig können wir das beste E-Commerce-Erlebnis der Welt schaffen und nichts erreichen, wenn die Ressourcen in Branding und Marketing nicht die gleiche Sorgfalt in der Brand Experience erhalten.

 

Brand Design im UX ist die sichtbare Brand Experience

Brand Design ist die sorgfältig gestaltete Identität und Stimme Ihrer Marke über jeden digitalen Berührungspunkt hinweg. Aus der Sicht eines Verbrauchers fällt uns leicht auf, wo schlechtes Design unser Erlebnis einer ganzen Marke ins Negative beeinflusst. Jeder, der schon ein mal auf eine schöne Anzeige geklickt hat und zu einer schrecklich aussehenden E-Commerce-Website geführt wurde, kennt den inneren Shift in der Wahrnehmung. Eine schreckliche Anzeige kann zur besten User Experience führen, die wir durch die schreckliche (und nicht geklickte) Anzeige niemals zu Gesicht bekommen. User Experience ist Brand Experience ist jeder Touchpoint ist wichtig für Ihre Marke – auch wenn Sie keine Supersportwagen verkaufen.

Benchmark Design – Designagentur München

Sind Sie auf der Suche nach einem kreativen Partner, der mit Branding und Corporate Design Ihre Marke für die Zukunft optimiert und für die Digitalisierung bereit macht? Benchmark Design ist eine Designagentur in München. Wir sind spezialisiert auf kreative und lösungsorientierte Brandings und Corporate Designs, mit denen unsere Kunden von Startup bis Konzern ihre Marke definieren und mit einem Design System zu neuer Relevanz finden.

Benchmark Design

+49 (0) 89 458 132 21
info@benchmark-design.de

Oskar-von-Miller-Ring 20
80333 München

©2021 Benchmark Design